Island City Book Club

At our March 15th meeting we will discuss The Boys In the Boat by Daniel Brown. Please contact the library for additional details.

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.


Upcoming titles include: 
  • April:  A God In Ruins / Kate Atkinson
  • May: TBD

Past book club selections include:
  • Americanah Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • My Name Is Lucy Barton / Elizabeth Strout
  • The Last Train To Paradise / Les Standiford
  • Like Water For Chocolate / Laura Esquivel
  • I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings / Maya Angelou

Options for obtaining copies of book club selections include:

Please visit us or contact the Wilton Manors Library at (954) 390-2195 if you have questions about the Island City Book Club. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Return to the library home page
.